I can CAN

I’ve been a bit silent lately. Hopefully you noticed since I am such a HUGE part of your lives now, Ha, riiiight. Let me tell you though, even on a little city lot I have plenty to keep me busy this summer. The garden is growing like mad. I have been picking enough cucumbers each week to put up a handful of cans of pickles each week for the past few weeks. It is fun having such a bounty that I can pick a new recipe each week to try out and since upgrading my 1970’s home canning cookbook to this beauty
SAMSUNG
I have been busy putting veggie to canning jar pretty much every weekend. We have Kosher Dills, Refrigerator Dills,
PhotoGrid_1403998740543
Dilly Beans and Dill Pickle Slices.
PhotoGrid_1404799770652
Midge has been asking for sweet pickle relish and I have been picking at least 2 good-sized zucchini nearly every day so I can now add sweet pickle relish, that is DELICIOUS and I even canned up a couple pints of zucchini pickles!
PhotoGrid_1406002167224
The relish is fun, it is made with all our homegrown veggies, I didn’t have any red bells so I substituted our pretty lilac bells
PhotoGrid_1405626943517
This new canning cookbook has gotten me so excited to can. I may have dog-eared a page or two of recipes I cannot wait to try.
SAMSUNG
Up next is trying a few more canning recipes for all my zucchini and then restock my mason jar collection in time to hopefully put up gobs of tomato products next month.

Do you can? What is your favorite canning recipe or favorite thing to can? Please share.

2 thoughts on “I can CAN

    • No doubt! Maybe I can get my mom and stepdad to be our runners, they pass by your place twice a year when they come south for the holidays and then again when they return home in the spring 😉

Leave a Reply

