Fresh Potato Bread

As promised here is my version of potato bread using fresh Yukon Gold potatoes rather than the simulated potato flake stuff that comes in a box at your nearest grocery store. Those things are just gross to me, I won’t eat them as instant mashed potatoes so why would I want them in my homemade bread.

This is another recipe from my bread machine cookbook that I tweaked, cause well, I just can’t leave anything alone. I am always reworking or tweaking a recipe to suit my vision of perfect. Hope you like it.

SAMSUNG
Take a couple small Yukon Gold potatoes (or 1 medium), peel*, chop and place in a small saucepan. Add enough filtered water to cover them. Bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer and cook until soft. About 10 minutes or so.

*save those peels, they can be tossed in your bone broth veggie scraps you have stored in the freezer!

SAMSUNG
Drain off the excess water. Place the potatoes in a bowl and using a fork, mash as fine as you can. If you have a ricer, I bet it would be great for this step. Let me know as I do not possess one.

SAMSUNG
Really work to get the big lumps out. Transfer the mashed potato to a liquid measuring cup, fill with enough water to measure 1 1/2 cups. Stir it around to get all the air bubbles out.

SAMSUNG
Return the potato and water mixture to the bowl. go through with the fork to break up any sneaky hidden clumps.

Now pour that potato water into your bread machine bowl and layer in the remaining ingredients in the order listed.

2 Tablespoon butter, softened
3 1/4 cup Bread flour
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 1/2 teaspoon salt

make a well in the center and add
1 3/4 teaspoon dry active yeast

Now decide if you want a bread machine bowl shaped loaf, a standard loaf or maybe some rolls this time. Make your selection for your machine accordingly. I set mine to the dough setting and went off to find other things to do for the 1 1/2 hours it was busy.

Once the dough was complete I turned it out and cut it into 16 equal portions. I shaped 10 into balls by gently pulling the sides under and pinching. I then flattened each as I placed them on a greased cookie sheet. I was after hamburger buns with these so I made them good and flat. I took the remaining 6 pieces and stretched them out long for hot dog buns.

You can take the dough, shape it into a rough rectangle that is about 8 inches by 12 inches (or so), roll up from a short side, pinch the seam, tuck the ends and place into a greased 9″x5″ loaf pan. If you have 2 loaf pans, you could likely divide the dough in half and use both. At this time I own the larger 9″x5″ and a smaller version and have used both with a single recipe with the end result being 2 lovely loaves. I actually like having the smaller loaf for when Midge needs a little something to hold her over I can fix her a palm sized sandwich, she loves it.

Cover and place in a warm, draft free spot to let rise for 1 hour or until about doubled in size. Place in a preheated 350F degree oven and bake. The rolls took about 25-30 minutes. A loaf would take 35-45 minutes, until golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped.

I left he rolls to cool on the baking sheet. A loaf I would turn out immediately to prevent it from getting all steamed and soggy in the pan. Then you have to try holding out 15 minutes before slicing that first, straight from the oven, where the smell of it baking taunted you for the past 30 minutes, piece. Good luck holding out that long! You know you’ll be in there 5 minutes later carefully slicing a piece off, burning your fingers, slathering on some soft butter that soaks in faster than you can spread it, all in the name of quality control.

Sorry, was totally sitting here dreaming (and drooling) about fresh bread straight from the oven. Ok, back to my hamburger and hot dog buns. The hamburger buns turned out perfect!
SAMSUNG
Light , just enough fluff, not crumbly at all.

We used them for burgers on Friday night and as a bread option at the picnic on Sunday (I also made the honey oatmeal wheat , swapped the oatmeal for a 5-grain hot cereal blend, to make 8 sandwich rolls and a loaf). No matter how you fill these rolls, hamburger, turkey or veggie burger, Ranch Chicken Salad BLT, or even cold cuts and cheese, you can’t go wrong.

Oh sure, using the fresh potato adds a little more work, but knowing that my homemade bread is made with fresh ingredients and not just another processed imitation, chemical filled one makes it worth the extra effort.

The hot dog buns? Yeah well, those turned out more like flat breadsticks. Great for still hot out of the oven samples but not so great for filling. Oh well, they can’t all be winners. Besides, I am actually thinking of trying an egg bread recipe for my next go at hot dog buns. I’ll keep you posted.

3 thoughts on “Fresh Potato Bread

  1. Hi, thanks for the recipe! I’ll give it a try soon :). I don’t have a bread machine but I’m sure I can mix and rise without ;). Btw, how can I navigate around your blog? I don’t see any search function or past blog list. (May be cos I’m on my iPad?). I’m keen to see what else you have to share as I loved your bread recipes! I can’t wait to see how the hot dog buns go :). Liss

    • Hi, sorry I didn’t put a “no bread machine” version on this recipe. I will work on that. I think on the mobile version the search and whatnot that are on the side on the desktop version are all the way down on the bottom. My organization is definitely lacking. I am hoping to get things a little more organized now that my content has built up. Love that you are enjoying things! Thanks for the love!

  2. Pingback: A Triumphant Weekend | Cluck & Hoe

Leave a Reply

