Dinner, you need dinner?

I know I haven’t posted many new recipes lately and that is simply due to the fact that I have not taken the time to let the creativity flow. I have just been cycling through many of the same old, tried and true recipes as of late. We have only been at this chicken, homesteading thing since last summer. This is the first spring were we have had so many daily and weekly chores. Trying to find a balance with the blog, chores, friends and family has proven tricky and exhausting.

In theme of this struggle for balance, when Saturday evening rolled around and talk of dinner came up I had no idea what I was going to make, I didn’t even know what I had for ingredients. I haven’t made a meal plan or gone to the market since before Easter. The search for inspiration turned into a thorough cleaning of the fridge and freezer. Unfortunately I turned up more chicken food (Leftovers past their prime for human consumption) than I did inspiration. What I did find was the remaining ham chunks from Easter and half a bag of frozen peas.

When the cupboards are lean is when the creativity has no choice but to kick into overdrive. Here is what I came up with from the find of ham and peas. I cooked up some large elbow macaroni, tossed the frozen peas and cubed ham in just a couple of minutes before the pasta was done. Once hot I strained the water off, returned the pasta, peas and ham to the pot, added some (ok, maybe a little more than some) butter, a drizzle of olive oil, fresh lemon zest, a squeeze of half a lemon of juice, a healthy handful of grated parmesan cheese and some parsley, salt and pepper.
SAMSUNG

I must admit, for having little on hand and being exhausted from a long, chore filled day, this turned out to be so yummy that everyone went back for seconds. What started out as just trying to create a balanced meal for dinner quickly became a new favorite that will likely be making repeat appearances on our weekly meal plans (that is, when I get around to fitting that back into my schedule).

Leave a Reply

