Get Your Grow On!

It’s been a month now since I got the final plants and seeds planted in the garden. The weather has been sunny and warm with only a couple of free watering days (rain). I have had a rough start with the tomatoes and peppers due to a slug invasion and finally had to step up the warfare. I now can see new sprouts and stronger growth, positive sign that I am winning the battle. Here are some pictures of the garden going’s on.

SAMSUNG

The Corn’r looks happy, we are about 5 inches tall, another 5 inches and I will plant the beans. I just love rows of corn.
SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

The potatoes are growing so fast I have been adding a fresh layer of straw weekly, I am obviously over due this week.
SAMSUNG

The snap peas are blooming
SAMSUNG

Still enjoying the hold over beets from my fall planting. Here is a Detroit Dark Red
SAMSUNG

And a Chiogga Guardsmark
SAMSUNG

Finally, the cabbages planted in the fall are starting to look like cabbage. I have 4 of them, I am hoping to make a first time attempt a Sauerkraut. Anyone have a good, easy, fail-proof recipe I should try?
SAMSUNG

GARLIC! I have never successfully grown garlic, I hope what is underground looks as good as what I can see here.
SAMSUNG

Cucumbers, the first planting was mowed down by slugs. So far, so good for the second attempt. I have planted both table cucumbers and a pickling version. Mmm pickles…
SAMSUNG

One thought on “Get Your Grow On!

  1. Pingback: How to start a homestead.

Leave a Reply

