Quick Pickled Beets

I have been a bit inundated this past week and weekend and the current week isn’t looking any better. In fact, it is promising to be one of those weeks when “I’ll sleep when I’m dead” will feel like the appropriate mantra. Between helping the Brother-in-law and his family move into their new home, a catering with custom cake and cupcakes, hatching our very first chicks and getting the house and ourselves ready to actually take a weekend vacation (WHAT??!), add in working 3 days, and then chauffeuring my Gram the 1+ hour drive into Beverly Hills for a 15 minute doctors appointment only to make the same drive back. I sure hope I don’t just sleep through my entire weekend of planned shenanigans.

That said, I haven’t had much time to think about meal planning, recipe writing or really even cooking. I will not admit to how many meals we ate from restaurants and worse, buy just know, it is not a pretty number. Last night I finally cooked a real meal for the three of us and managed to get it in front of us by 8pm. But, at least it was home-cooked and REAL food. I actually came up with a great, quick pickled beet recipe in the process. I had pulled two beets over the weekend with the full intent of roasting and adding to a salad. Last night as I began to make dinner after 7pm, the time required for roasting just wasn’t there. So I peeled and sliced the beets about 1/4″ thick, placed them in a small saucepan, added a fat pinch of kosher salt (my salt of choice) with the full intent of just boiling them up. Them I thought about a quick pickle recipe I have made and enjoyed and promptly added some seasoned rice vinegar, about 1/2 cup to the 1 1/2 cups of water already in the pan and about 1/2-3/4 of a teaspoon of sugar. Then I just brought it up to a boil, covered, reduced to a simmer and let them cook until softened, while I prepared the rest of dinner. Once softened I removed them from the cooking liquid and placed in the freezer to cool them enough to handle.
SAMSUNG
Chopped and tossed into a salad and I have to admit, for just throwing things together, these beets were incredible!! Just the right balance of vinegar and sweetness. It helped to cut the “earthy” flavor of the beets just enough. I am SO doing this again!

Note: The lighter beet is a Chiogga Guardsmark, it hadn’t really developed the red rings yet, but thanks to cooking them with the Detroit Dark Red beet it took on a pretty stain.

Try it and tell me what you think.

2 thoughts on “Quick Pickled Beets

  1. Pingback: How I Beet the Traffic Jam Blues | Cluck & Hoe

  2. Pingback: A Dozen Edibles Pretty Enough to Fool Your Homeowners Association

Leave a Reply

