Roasted Beets

Some of the veggies I planted last fall with the hopes of having a winter harvest had other plans and are just now starting to reach harvestable size. They have proven to be well worth the wait. I have been thrilled with the sizable crowns of cauliflower and broccoli and the colorful and fun beets. I have never had much luck with growing any of these in the past so this just makes it all the more exciting. I only got a couple of both the broccoli and cauliflower but I still call it a huge success and am hopeful for the next round this spring.
PhotoGrid_1395980337326
IMG950632-1-2

I planted three varieties of beets, the traditional Detroit Dark Red, a whimsical Chiogga Guardsmark that when sliced has red and white rings like a bulls-eye, and a bright and cheerful Touchstone Gold. They have all performed differently with the Detroit Red’s being the best producers, followed closely by the Guardsmark. The gold we only just pulled our first one.
wpid-mntsdcardDCIMCamera2014-03-31-18.19.16.jpg.jpg

The first Guardsmark I pulled I just washed, trimmed, seasoned and roasted. I was excited to get it cooked so I could slice into it to see the fun bulls-eye rings. Boy was I shocked when I finally did. Turns out the red bleeds out during roasting 😦 I put red beets in the oven and unwrapped red and WHITE beets when they were finished cooking
PhotoGrid_1396065780626

So the next time I picked a few beets for dinner I sliced a little extra off the end so I could sneak a peak at the whimsical rings before I tossed them in the oven
PhotoGrid_1395980509141
Finally, Proof!

I read somewhere the suggestion of leaving a bit of the tops on to keep the color from bleeding. So the next time, I tried that. Keep reading to see how it worked out.

Here is how my family likes their beets cooked.

-Simply preheat the oven to 350F degrees.
-Pull off a big enough sheet of aluminum foil to be able to tightly wrap up your beets.
(I tried roasting 8 beets together in one foil packet, they roasted for double the time and were still under done. So keep it to no more than 3 beets per foil packet when roasting)
-Place your washed and trimmed beets in the center of the foil, pull up the sides a bit to keep the oil from running over.
-Drizzle with a just enough olive oil to rub and coat the beets all over, sprinkle with a bit of salt.
wpid-mntsdcardDCIMCamera2014-03-31-18.26.25.jpg.jpg
-Wrap up tight, making sure there are no holes on the bottom.
-Place directly on the center rack in your oven and bake for about 30 minutes or until they give when squeezed (like an almost ripe avocado).
wpid-mntsdcardDCIMCamera2014-03-31-19.49.34.jpg.jpg
-either allow to cool to room temp, refrigerate till chilled or carefully when still hot; use a paper towel to gently wipe off the skin.
-Slice or chop for serving however you like your cooked beets. We eat them straight up when warm as our side veggie and like them chilled and chopped in a green salad.

SO after roasting with some of the tops on, this was the end result-
wpid-mntsdcardDCIMCamera2014-03-31-20.03.11.jpg.jpg
The Guardsmark still bled out all the color. Oh well, they are still delicious! I just LOVE the golden beet color, like sunshine on our plate.

How do you like to eat your beets? Would love some more ideas to mix things up in our house.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Roasted Beets

  1. Pingback: How I Beet the Traffic Jam Blues | Cluck & Hoe

  2. Pingback: A Dozen Edibles Pretty Enough to Fool Your Homeowners Association

Leave a Reply

