Enchiladas Suizas

In my quest to stretch my dollar by stretching my chicken I am now on a constant search for tasty ways to use the weekly round of roast chicken. This week we have enjoyed a couple of new recipes. These Enchiladas are the latest. I am a big fan of Enchiladas Suizas and have made some sort of chicken in green sauce enchie before. This was my first with this recipe.

Keeping on my path of self-sustainability, I took the recipe a bit further by making the corn tortillas from scratch as well. Nuts? Likely. Worth it? Definitely! Thanks to my practice in catering and cake making I have learned better time management skills and made everything in advance of friends arriving for dinner. The only change I would suggest, if making ahead of baking time, with fresh tortillas, hold off the topping of the enchiladas with the remaining sauce until just before sliding them into the oven. The fresh tortillas acted as a sponge and soaked up too much sauce, making things a little drier than I would have liked.

With guests coming I doubled the recipe, I did NOT double the jalapeno as I didn’t want a super spicy dish. And of course you can swap the yogurt back for sour cream if you’d prefer.

Let me apologize now for both the poor quality of the pictures as well as the lack of some beginning and end shots, I get so involved in the process that I completely space the photo taking until it’s too late. Everyone really enjoyed this recipe so much so that I want to share it now, even while looking half finished. I promise to fill in the blanks since I will likely be creating this delightful dish again, soon. Until then I will leave my editing notes in there, who knows, maybe you can see where I need a photo and when creating this dish you would kindly capture that picture for me. Then I can slide it in it’s place and give you some photo credit, if you want. Might be fun.

Serves 5 – 2 enchiladas each

Ingredients:
1/2 teaspoon olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 jalapeno, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 lb. tomatillos, husks removed, fruit washed and coarsely chopped
1/2 cup water
1/2 teaspoon Kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
3/4 cup nonfat Greek yogurt (plus more for serving)
1 cup packed cilantro
1 lb. shredded cooked chicken (use your own roasted chicken, shred a grocery store rotisserie bird or even use canned if you must)
10 corn tortillas
1 cup jack cheese, shredded
2 cups romaine lettuce, shredded

Directions:
Position a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat to 375 degree.

(insert pic of veggies sautéing)
In a medium skillet heat oil over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic and jalapeno and cook until the vegetables are soft, about 5 minutes. Add the cumin and cook for 1 minute.

(insert pic of added tomatillos)
Add the tomatillos, season with salt and pepper.

(insert Pic of cooking tomatillos)
Cook for 2 minutes. Stir water and simmer until tomatillos are soft, about 5 minutes

SAMSUNG
Let the mixture cool then transfer to a blender and mix until smooth.

SAMSUNG
Add the yogurt, blend until combined.

SAMSUNG
Add the cilantro,

SAMSUNG
blend until smooth and season with salt and pepper.

SAMSUNG
Spread 1/2 cup of salsa into a 9″ x 13″ baking dish.

SAMSUNG
In a bowl, mix the chicken with 1 cup of the salsa.

Warm the tortillas in a microwave until pliable, about 1 minute. ( skipped this step as I had fresh cooked tortillas still hot and pliable standing by)

SAMSUNG
Divide the chicken mixture among the tortillas, spooning about 1/3 cup in a line down the center of each. (not the gorgeous fresh tortillas)

SAMSUNG
Roll them up and line them, seam side down, in a prepared baking dish.

SAMSUNG
Pour the remaining 1 cup of salsa over the enchiladas.

SAMSUNG
Cover the dish with foil and bake until hot and golden, 20-25 minutes.

* At this point in the cooking process, we had dear friends over and I was more interested in catching up than I was in picture taking, sorry.

(insert pic of adding cheese)
Uncover, sprinkle with the cheese.

(insert pic of finished enchies)
Bake until the cheese is melted and the salsa is bubbling, about 5 minutes longer.

(insert pic of it plated)
Serve with the lettuce and more yogurt. I like to serve my enchies with my scratch made Not-so-Fried Refried Beans and red rice.

Can’t you just see, in your mind’s eye, how delicious this dinner turned out. Mouthwatering, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

