Bone Broth

Bone broth?? What?? That is the reaction I get when I say those two words. It was the reaction I gave when I first heard those words. Then I was out on the internet and one link lead to another and before I knew it I had found post after post about the benefits of bone broth. Bone broth is simply a broth made with bones that have been all but picked clean of the meat. I have started with chicken but you can use any bones. If you don’t raise your own meat birds, buy organic, hormone and antibiotic free chickens. We should only eat that type of meat but it is especially important when making bone broth as you are leaching everything out of the bones.

This recipe is in conjunction with my Stretching my Chicken post. Once I have pulled all the meat from my roast chickens I immediately start my bone broth.

SAMSUNG
The bones go straight into the slow cooker.

SAMSUNG
All the juices and tasty bits left after carving go into the slow cooker.

SAMSUNG
All the goodness that cooked out over the 5 hours, yep, into the slow cooker as well.

SAMSUNG
I prepped a couple vacuum sealed bags for the freezer.
Each contains:
1 onion – quartered with skin on,
2 large cloves garlic – skin on,
1 large carrot cut into large pieces,
2 ribs celery – leaves and all cut into large pieces
2 bay leaves
All I have to do is cut it open and dump it in. Makes things simple when dinner is waiting.

SAMSUNG
I add about 1/2 a teaspoon of whole peppercorns, a tablespoon of vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar) and top it all off with filtered water (Don’t add as much as I did in this picture, it boiled over, oops. Just fill till within 1/4 inch of top. I don’t add any salt as I can adjust seasoning each time I use the broth.

SAMSUNG
My slow cooker has timed cooking options only, so I set it for the longest (10 hours) low temp cooking. It goes all night, in the morning I reset for another 10 hours.

SAMSUNG
After 20 hours of cook time I check to see how soft the bones are, if they don’t crumble easily I reset the cook time again.

SAMSUNG
At the end of cooking, allow your broth to cool to room temperature. Strain off all the chunky bits.

SAMSUNG
Revel in the glorious rich in color and flavor bone broth that you just made.

0210142051
Ladle your strained broth into warm jars (I just fill the sink with hot tap and soak the jars for a few minutes. This is especially important if your broth is still quite warm. I made the mistake of ladling hot broth into room temp jars, lost half a quart when the bottom of the jar broke from the heat, Oops.

There is nothing like this golden broth. Once tasting this homemade broth you may forever be ruined and never again be content using the store bought stuff. You’ve been warned!

1891051_650578731658491_1081319449_n

17 thoughts on “Bone Broth

  1. Pingback: Stretching my Chicken | Cluck & Hoe

  2. I love this post. I have made my own broth like this for many years. One additional step I do is to cut the bones into pieces. It makes the broth so much richer! I place my cleaver blade on a bone, and then hit the top of the knife with the flat side of a metal, hammer-style meat pounder/tenderizer. Try it. I think you will like the results.

    • I freeze mine in plastic containers in 2 cup increments. I usually keep it in the fridge for the first week and then freeze any remaining after that just fine.

    • I have not canned it in a pressure cooker, just fridge and freezer storage. But pyrofish commented on here that they do and it is shelf stable for a year.

  3. We just started doing this a year ago. One additional step is to pressure can the stock. It’s shelf stable for more than a year, not that it stays on the shelf that long 😉
    My wife feared the pressure canner at first, but bit now it’s another tool to give us delicious food we made.

    • I have yet to attempt pressure canning but it is on my “to conquer” list. It may have just moved up a few rungs now!

  4. I’ve grown up doing this. My family never wasted bones from any meat. It all went into a pot and was cooked into broths. If we weren’t gonna be making broth any time soon the bones were packed and frozen until needed. I never knew of the benefits, it’s just the way soup has always been made!

  5. I do this with a pressure cooker. About double the required to cook a whole chicken so for me 30 minutes. I also keep a running bag of veggie scrap and herb stems in the freezer,carrot peel,celery bottoms, parsley stems, onion skin and end pieces including the root bits. Theonionskin willdarkenthebroth a bit.

  6. How do you can this? I tried some and when I opened a jar to use it, it smelled horrible. I dumped it, and the house smelled bad for a while!

    • I just cool mine and then strain into jars. I refrigerate for a week. After week I transfer to a tupperware and freeze any remaining broth in 2 cup increments.

  7. For canning, it MUST be pressure canned. Water bath won’t do it. There are a few websites out there with broth canning directions, but the basic idea is to put the canner on the second setting. IIRC it’s 11lbs. Fill your jars leaving 1″ headspace. Put fire to it. Let it vent till it’s steady, then put the rocker on. Let it roll for 45 minutes. Turn off the heat and let it cool. I let it cool till morning. No use messing with a big screaming hot pot. When we open a jar, it smells like liquid gold and chicken or turkey. The boxed stuff now smells like dishwater to me… we often used smoked turkey for this too by the way.

Leave a Reply

