Honey-Oatmeal Wheat Bread

PhotoGrid_1390284131680

This is the staple bread in our household. It is a happy compromise for The Kiddo and I. I want her to eat more whole grain, nutritious breads and she would much rather eat the super unhealthy bleached white breads. This bread recipe lets us meet in the middle and makes us both happy. She even eats the crust on this one!! Sheesh, sounds like I’m talking about a 5 year old child and not my halfway to 15 year old.

I cheat and use my bread machine to do the mixing, kneading and first rise. I will write this recipe for both a bread machine as well as without.

I always find the last step to be the most difficult, the waiting. I have to go find another activity to keep my hands off the fresh bread. I almost NEVER make it the full 15 minutes. Pulling a fresh baked loaf of bread out of the oven has proven time and time again to be the easiest way to call The Handsome Hubby and Midge in from whatever tasks have their attention. I call out “Samples” and they come running as if the house was on fire.

I do, after the initial sampling, wrap and refrigerate the remaining loaf overnight before slicing it up. This helps ensure easier and more even slicing. I like to slice the whole loaf so during the busy weekday mornings I can quickly grab a couple slices for fried egg sandwiches or toast.

Honey-Oatmeal Wheat Bread

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups warm water
3 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups bread flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 1/4 teaspoons yeast

Bread Machine Directions:
In the order listed, place all the ingredients in the bowl of your bread machine, make a little well in the flour before adding the salt and yeast (this will help ensure better mix in). Close the lid and select the Dough cycle.

Once the Dough Cycle is complete on your bread machine, turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Cover with plastic wrap or a lightweight tea towel, let rest for 10 minutes.

Grease a 9″x 5″ loaf pan, bottom and sides. Roll or stretch dough into a rough 9″ x 12″ rectangle. Beginning at a short end, roll up the dough, pinch the seam to seal. Place seam side down into the prepared loaf pan, cover, place in warm, draft-free location and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 45-60 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place pan in on rack in the center of the oven. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until golden brown and when tapped makes a hollow sound. Remove from oven, lay pan on it’s side and try to let it cool for at least 15 minutes before cutting into it.

Directions with a Stand Mixer:

Ingredients:
1 1/4 teaspoons yeast
1 1/2 cups bread flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rolled oats
1 1/2 cups water
3 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt

In a large mixing bowl, stir together the bread flour and yeast, set aside. In a a medium saucepan combine the water, honey, butter and salt. Heat till warm, 120-130 degrees, and the butter almost melts. Add the water mixture to the flour/yeast mixture. Beat on low-medium speed for 30 or so seconds, till combined. Scrape down the sides and then turn speed up to high. Beat mixture on High for 3 minutes. Reduce speed to low, stir in as much of the whole wheat flour and the oats as you can.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead in enough whole wheat flour to make a moderately stiff dough that is smooth and elastic, 6-8 minutes). Shape the dough into a ball. Place the dough into a lightly oiled bowl, turning to coat the dough ball in oil. Cover with plastic wrap or a lightweight tea towel and let rise in a warm, draft-free area till double in size, about 1 to 1 1/2 hours.

Punch down dough, turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface. Let cover with plastic wrap or a lightweight tea towel, let rest for 10 minutes.

Grease a 9″x 5″ loaf pan, bottom and sides. Roll or stretch dough into a rough 9″ x 12″ rectangle. Beginning at a short end, roll up the dough, pinch the seam to seal. Place seam side down into the prepared loaf pan, cover, place in warm, draft-free location and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 45-60 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place pan in on rack in the center of the oven. Bake for 30-40 minutes. Until golden brown and when tapped makes a hollow sound. Remove from oven, lay pan on it’s side and try to let it cool for at least 15 minutes before cutting into it.

SAMSUNG

If you don’t want to use a Stand Mixer:
Follow the directions for the Stand Mixer version, just beat the dough by hand until it is smooth. This may take longer than 3 minutes. You may also need to use a little more flour to get your dough smooth and elastic.

15 thoughts on “Honey-Oatmeal Wheat Bread

  1. Pingback: Would You Like Some Bread With Your Butter? | The Jahner Farmstead

    • As I understand it, Bread Flour is a higher protein (higher gluten) refined flour (white). Whole wheat flour is less refined and coarser, actually containing more fiber and nutrients. The higher protein bread flour is made for yeast breads to help get the fluffy, chewy texture that one typically looks for in their bread.

      I use this recipe as my “happy medium” compromise with my 14 yr. old. She still is not a fan of the nutrient dense whole grain breads. I figure this is a 50/50 and has the added oatmeal so she is at least getting something closer to healthy. She would eat white and potato bread by the loaf if I let her. Not to mention, not store bought and loaded with preservatives!!

    • I found a this link to a pdf from wyomingextension.org. It gives some advice on high altitude bread machine baking. I think I would start with the original recipe. If it doesn’t come out like you want then hit the troubleshooting section and try adjusting some of the ingredients or baking temperature. It did mention baking at 25 degrees higher temp. Let me know how it goes, I’m happy to help figure it out.

  2. just a word of advice from another fresh bread from the oven lover. Whole wheat flour is much lower in gluten and breads made with it tend to be heavier and denser. Use the same amount of whole wheat flour but add 1 to 2 tablespoons of gluten which can be bought in just about any grocery store. You will need to play with the amount of gluten that works best for your particular recipe and of course weather affects bread dough too. Sometimes my dough will hit the top of the bread machine during the first rise if I add too much gluten. Happy baking and best wishes, Lynn ( first time visitor to your blog)

    • Thanks for the tips, was just talking about this very thing. I want to work on a more whole wheat version that my Kiddo will like. Will try the addition of gluten in it, thank you!! And thanks for visiting, hope you’ll hang around.

  3. I have a question. Can we just leave it in the bread maker to complete the baking process? Instead of taking it out of the bread maker and baking it in the oven. I try to cut down on the use of my oven as much as possible and I find that of course, my bread maker uses less electricity.

    • Absolutely! I just don’t like the shape my bread machine bakes my loaves into. Big square blocks with a hole in the bottom. That is the only reason I pull it.

    • I can get two good sized loaves if I take it out of the bread machine to rise and bake! And, it does not collapse in the loaf pans as it does in the bread maker…..

  4. Just made my very first loaf of bread ever using this recipe. Couldn’t be more pleased. The instructions were easy to follow and it turned out beautifully! Thank you so much.

  5. Pingback: A Triumphant Weekend | Cluck & Hoe

Leave a Reply

