Something Dulce

I have been missing action for a bit now. But I have good reason. Beyond the holiday clutter control, I have been up to my eyeballs in baking, cookie making, candy dipping, sugar galore!

I had an enormous cake/goodie order for a Quinceanera. I spent 2 weeks working nearly nonstop on all the details. The guest count was 150. This meant I would be creating my largest cake to date. The cake was 3 tiers of red velvet cake with cream cheese filling and butter cream iced. The tier sizes were 14″, 12″ and 10″ diameter. It took 9 batches of my red velvet recipe to bake up all those cakes! I added teal fondant swirls and flowers and finished it all off with hand crafted butterflies.
PhotoGrid_1390095065945

Here is a close-up of the detailed butterflies. I airbrushed the purple base on and then hand painted the black and white details before adding the non-toxic glitter.
2014-01-11 09.13.48-1

I created simple gum paste butterflies that I airbrushed to take them from white to vivid teal and purple.
SAMSUNG

Finding sprinkles in the exact colors I wanted proved difficult so Midge and I just colored up our own.
PhotoGrid_1389456287865

In addition to the cake they put out a treats table with gobs of candies and baked goods. I crafted all the baked goods in quantities of 100+, white cake pops, chocolate cupcakes, peanut butter cookies, snickerdoodles, chocolate chip cookies and white chocolate dipped pretzel rods.
PhotoGrid_1390147926967

Here is a collage of the treats table.
PhotoGrid_1390092177961

As if all that weren’t enough, I was also commissioned to create the take home favor of custom colored candied apples, complete with bag, ribbon and hand crafted tags for all 150 guests.
PhotoGrid_1390147377830

They looked so pretty and festive on the tables.
SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

By the time it was all said and done I had gone through 40+ pounds of sugar, 10 cups of corn syrup, 25 pounds of powdered sugar and 5 pounds of butter, just to name a few ingredients!

The best part was that all of this was for a wonderfully sweet, talented and fun loving young lady who I have had the pleasure of seeing grow up since she was a tiny second grade friend. Her family is one of those incredibly close, bonded families that give your own family strength just by being around them. I have, over the years had the honor of creating cakes for milestone birthdays for each of the other 2 kids as well as the 20th wedding anniversary cake for mom and dad. Crafting this magnificent cake was the final piece so I can now proudly say that I have helped create lasting memories for each member of their family. I love being a part of the special moments in peoples lives. It brings me great joy knowing I played a roll in making their day extra ordinary.

Leave a Reply

