Take a Walk

I have been a walking machine!  In one week I logged over 17 miles.  Though last week it rained quite a bit so I wasn’t out logging miles for a couple of days.  Let me tell you, after being away from walking for just a handful of days, this mornings pep talk to get out the door was a doozy. I was not in any mood to go walking.  The good news is I had already planned to walk and had already dressed in my walking clothes.  This is one of my tricks to help get me going, I dress in my walking clothes before heading out.  Doing this helps eliminate one reason for skipping.  It was a bit chilly out, but I managed a very brisk 2.7 mile walk around the neighborhood despite things conspiring against me…

Last week I finally managed to download a workout playlist onto my phone, I use an app to track my distance, speed and calories burned and it will integrate my music into the program.  Last week when I took it for a test run, it worked perfectly and really made a difference for me.  Great tunes while walking makes it easier for me to push myself to go farther and faster.  To bad today all it could do was malfunction.  I was so fed up with it all by the 2 mile mark it took all my strength to not throw my phone into the street.  The music was overlapping like a terrible DJ was trying to blend songs.  Then the app started pausing and restarting over and over and over again.  It was enough to make me nuts.  So much for reducing stress during today’s walk. Shoot. I really hope this doesn’t become a habit as I really do enjoy the music to push me onward.

This week I plan to start off a bit easier on my walks and gradually increase the distance, difficulty and speed.  See, I have a goal, well, another goal. Bare with me while I explain.  A couple of weeks ago a friend and I went for a hike on a local mountain loop.  The loop is roughly 5 miles long and can be approached from two different angles.  You can choose to start-up a 1 mile gradual incline before heading down 4 miles of steep downhill, or you can go the reverse.  Being the avid walker that I am, we hit the 4 miles steep uphill route.  WRONG!  Thank all things Good that my asthmatic friend forgot to grab her inhaler forcing us to cut our hike short and head back down after only making it up just over one and half miles of the steep side.  If she had been able to continue, I may have been found rolling down the hill.  Nevermind that we put a half mile in before and after the hill just from the parking spot we were able to grab.  That is one popular hill! We did do a total of 4 miles but I was completely worthless for the rest of the day.  I was so wiped out. Not to mention how horrendously sore my muscles were.  Ok, so have you guessed it, my new goal?  Yep, I am now looking at my weekday walks as conditioning for that hike.  I will conquer that hill even if I have to do it gradually.  So we skipped it this last week and are both booked up this coming week, so that now gives me two weeks to become better conditioned so that hopefully I can see the top of that hill soon. I do love a good challenge.

I have also been busy cooking and creating.  I have been rebuilding my vegan cookbook as I lost more than half my recipes during a back-up and computer cleaning.  That did not make me very happy as I have lost a lot of my favorites.  But on the bright side, the cookbook did need to be cleaned out and revamped anyway.  So now I can rebuild it with recipes that are tried and true.  I am hoping this will all turn into a vegan cookbook one day.  In the meantime, I will continue to enjoy discovering new recipes and sharing them with family and friends.

Breakfasts are always a tricky one for us now.  Trying to come up with new, tasty, recipes that please the Kiddo and Hubby is not always easy.  We usually just stick to cereal and almond milk during the week, but on Sunday we like to get a late start and want something more Brunch worthy.  Phone addict that I am, I wake before the family and lounge about catching up on Words with Friends and Facebook statuses.  This particular Sunday a friend had tagged me in a picture.  The picture was Pesto Scrambled Tofu and Fried Potatoes.  From the looks of the picture I had all the veggies.  After searching a few recipes, I had the jist.  so off I went, frying up my favorite breakfast staple (Not low-fat as potatoes HAVE to have oil to be tasty fried taters) and  scrambling up the veggie laden scrambled tofu.  The end result,  not too shabby, I think I would have added a bit more salt and omitted the curry powder from the Scrambler mix.   Armed with that knowledge I think I will be trying this recipe again.  But for now, here’s the standard scrambler mix…

1  Cup Nutritional Yeast Flakes

5  Tablespoons + 1 Teaspoon Onion Powder

4  Teaspoons curry powder

4 teaspoons salt

4 teaspoons turmeric

4 teaspoons cumin

Combine everything in a jar or plastic storage container and shake to combine.  Store in your pantry or spice cabinet.

To make Tofu Scramblers:

Combine 4 ounces of Lite extra firm silken tofu, crumbled 1 1/2 teaspoons Scrambler Mix and 2 tablespoons non dairy milk* in a nonstick skillet.  Cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until the moisture is absorbed.  Serve Hot.

Nutritionals calculated with Silk PureAlmond Original Unsweetened Milk being used in recipe.

This makes 1 serving and has 65 calories, 1g fat, 0mg cholesterol, 310mg sodium, 89mg potassium, 4g carbs, 2g fiber, 11g protein.

To make the Pesto Tofu Scramble:

*Note:  I would make the Scramble Mix omitting the curry powder .

1/2 cup red bell pepper, seeded and diced

1/2 cup red onion, thinly sliced

1/2 cup baby Portobello mushrooms, sliced

12 oz. lite extra firm silken tofu, crumbled

1 1/2 tablespoons Scrambler Mix*

1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons Non Dairy Milk (I use Silk PureAlmond Unsweetened Original)

1 Tablespoon Pesto Paste (look for it in a tube on the shelf near the pasta sauces)

1 cup fresh spinach leaves, coarsely chopped

In a medium, nonstick frying pan, steam fry the bell pepper, onion and mushrooms, over medium-high heat until they start to soften. Transfer to a bowl.

Lower heat under frying to medium-low heat. Place the tofu, scrambler mix and all the milk in the pan, stir to combine. Cook, stirring occasionally, until the liquid is absorbed. Stir in the pesto paste. Stir in the veggie mix and the spinach, cook just until the spinach begins to wilt.  Serve Hot.  This makes 3 servings.

Each serving contains: 112 calories, 3g fat, 0mg cholesterol, 417mg sodium, 10g carbs, 3g fiber, 12g protein

If you try the recipe please come back and leave your thoughts about it here .  I would love the feed back.

Leave a Reply

