Not everything can be a winner

Ok, so last night we tried Roasted Tofu, Asparagus and Radishes with a side of roasted red potatoes and let me tell you, BIG flop. Was so not tasty. the only good thing that came of it was the red potatoes. Thankfully I had just picked up some Vegan Veggie Burgers at the market earlier in the day, cause that is what the kiddo had for dinner, I picked through mine and ate the asparagus and potatoes and the Hubs was a champ and powered through it. Though none of us will be eating that one again!

On the flip side, the dinner we had the night before was FANTASTIC! Mixed Grain Casserole and a Rainbow Salad. This was so easy. I just chopped a few things and dumped all the ingredients into a casserole dish, popped it in the oven for an hour and stirred halfway through cooking. After I pulled it from the oven I stirred in some Nutritional Yeast to kick up the nutrient factor as well as add a bit of creaminess to the dish. Then i made a salad with nearly every color in the rainbow in it. Even the 3 yr old I babysit loved it! It was such a hit that my kiddo and the hubby asked to take the leftovers for a cold lunch the next day. That left me with the leftover salad which was a fair trade in my book.

One more little note before I sign off, we finally purchased a scale to replace our old one that had quit working. I am pleased to report that I am officially down 12 pounds and the hubby is down nearly 20 and all since starting this endeavor after Christmas (granted we did eat better before Christmas but we were still eating meat, dairy and eggs) and the kicker, 2 of my pounds were just in a day!!! That is the motivation I needed, I have been able to withstand temptation far better now that I am getting to see the numbers change.

Leave a Reply

